Cancellation and retention

How do I add retention steps to my customers cancellation journey?

To add retention steps, head to Settings > Configuration > Pause and cancel subscription, and then click the 'Cancel' tab. Scroll down to the 'Retention steps' section and here you can use the toggle to the right of each step to add it to your customers cancellation journey. Make sure to hit 'Update retention steps' to save your changes.

How do I add exit reasons for my customer to select when they are cancelling their subscription?

To add exit reasons, head to Settings > Configuration > Pause and cancel subscription, and then click the 'Cancel' tab. Here you will be able to enter the exit reasons for your customers to choose from using the field provided and the 'Add' button to the right of it. Make sure to hit 'Update exit reasons' to save your changes.

How do I change my refund policy?

To change your refund policy, head to Settings > Configuration > Pause and cancel subscription, and then click the 'Cancel' tab. Here you can select whether you want to issue a pro-rated refund for unused time when a customer cancels or to not issue a refund.

Can I offer support to customers when they're attempting to cancel?

Yes, you just need to use the 'Help interrupt' retention step. To do this head to Settings > Configuration > Pause and cancel subscription, and then click the 'Cancel' tab. Scroll down to the 'Retention steps' section and toggle the 'Help interrupt' step on. You can then use the edit button to the right to add your support contact details.

Can I offer my customers a discount when they're attempting to cancel?

Yes, you just need to use the 'Apply discount' retention step. To do this head to Settings > Configuration > Pause and cancel subscription, and then click the 'Cancel' tab. Scroll down to the 'Retention steps' section and toggle the 'Apply discount' step on. You can then use the edit button to the right to customize the percentage of the discount you'd like to offer as well as the discount length. You can also limit customers to one retention discount per subscription and set a minimum tenure before the discount is offered if you wish.

Can I offer the option to change plan to customers when they're attempting to cancel?

Yes, you just need to use the 'Plan change' retention step. To do this head to Settings > Configuration > Pause and cancel subscription, and then click the 'Cancel' tab. Scroll down to the 'Retention steps' section and toggle the 'Plan change' step on. You can then use the edit button to the right to customize the text shown during this step.


Did this page help you?